Monday, May 14, 2012


Manchester City FC clinched their first EPL title today May 13, 2012 after 44 years of wait.
The title was decided at exactly 93rd minutes when Sergio Aguero drilled in a crucial goal against Queens Park Rangers (QPR).
Manchester United scored first at 20 minutes into the game through Wayne Rooneyassisted by Phil Jones while Pablo Zabaleta drilled in a goal at 39 minutes for Manchester City in a separate game.
QPR then equalised some minutes into second half after captain Joey Barton’s red card and later doubled the lead to keep Manchester United a favourite for the title.
After 93 minutes of play, Manchester United assumed the winner of the league with two minutes left for Manchester City.
But as Manchester United prepared to celebrate their fourth consecutive EPL win, snatching a 20th league title following their 1-0 win at Sunderland, Edin Dzeko and Sergio Aguero struck twice in two minutes to seal the most enthralling title duel in years for Roberto Mancini side.
Manchester city coach,  Mancini said ‘The last few minutes were incredible. This is for our supporters, they deserve this‘, while in the spirit of celebration.
The winner of EPL title was not decided until the last two minutes at the Etihad Stadium and fans were already leaving the pitch before the two goals from Manchester City strikers
To win like this is incredible. I have never seen a finish like this, we had a lot of chances, we deserve to win this championship. It’s fantastic. After 44 years I dedicate this to all our supporters. It’s a crazy season, crazy last minutes‘, said Mancini.
QPR’s defeat was not enough to send them down into the Championship as Bolton could only manage 2-2 draw at Stoke City, leaving QPR a point ahead of them.
In other matches played the same day, Arsenal FC clinched third place with a 3-2 comeback win at West Bromwich Albion while Tottenham Hotspurs sealed fourth place with a 2-0 win over Fulham.
As it stands, should Chelsea win the UEFA Champion’s League, Tottenham Hotspur might lose their fourth place spot and their hope of going for the Champions’ league next season.
Following the results from the final matches, Wolves FC, Blackburn Rovers andBolton FC are now relegated from the premiership.

No comments:

Post a Comment